The Office of Archives and Records serves as the official repository for the records of the Archdiocese of New Orleans, supporting the larger mission of the Archdiocese.

The present Archdiocese of New Orleans includes the eight civil parishes in the greater New Orleans area: Jefferson; Orleans; Plaquemines; St. Bernard; St. Charles; St. John, St. Tammany; and Washington. In addition to housing materials for these civil parishes, the archives also holds Louisiana-wide material from earlier periods when the archdiocesan boundaries included all or most of the state.

Mission of the Archives

The mission of the archives is to document and care for the historical records, publications, manuscript collections, and related records documenting the Catholic experience in Louisiana.